Uncategorized

MG ARC REVIEW: The Witches of Willow Cove by Josh Roberts

Its not easy being a teenage witch. – Goodreads

48648735

Title: The Witches of Willow Cove

Author: Josh Roberts

Publisher: Owl Hollow Press

Genre: Middle grade, fantasy

Format: eARC from Netgalley

RATING: ⭐⭐⭐⭐/5


SYNOPSIS:

It’s not easy being a teenage witch. Seventh grader Abby Shepherd is just getting the hang of it when weird stuff starts happening all around her hometown of Willow Cove. Green slime bubbling to life in science class. Giant snakes slithering around the middle school gym. Her best friend suddenly keeping secrets and telling lies.

Things only begin to make sense when a stranger named Miss Winters reveals that Abby isn’t the only young witch in town—and that Willow Cove is home to a secret past that connects them all. Miss Winters, herself a witch, even offers to teach Abby and the others everything she knows about witchcraft.

But as Abby learns more about Miss Winters’ past, she begins to suspect her new mentor is keeping secrets of her own. Can Abby trust her, or does Miss Winters have something wicked planned for the young witches of Willow Cove?


MY REVIEW:

This was such a fantastic story! It is the story of a teenage girl who finds out she is a witch! She is taken on this wild adventure and discovers that things are not as they seem in her cute little town. It is up to her and her friends to solve the mystery of Willow Cove and save themselves before it’s too late!

So, I want to start this off by saying the story was very well written and a super fun, exciting adventure! I loved every minute of it. Even though its middle grade, it did not lack substance and overall the action and mystery was really gripping. I found myself feeling a little nervous at times and some part were even spooky!

I loved all of the characters! Abby is so sweet. She is the MC of this story and I just loved her. She was smart and showed so much bravery and maturity. Robby, her best friend, was also fabulous! A really sweet boy who wanted nothing but the best for his friends. The relationship between the two of them was so “middle school” and I really liked that!

I was surprised by all the twists and turns! I found that many times I didn’t know what was going to happen next! I enjoyed how all of the characters started to become intertwined in the mystery! I also liked that some of the topics and problems in this story were very real. The author fit them in perfectly! The topics touched on include divorce, death, bullying, and relationships! The way the topics were brought up and the way characters reacted to them seemed very normal and that is so important for the younger readers.

Overall, I really liked this book! You cannot go wrong with witches and magic. The friendships in this story were so sweet and heartwarming! I loved that I was taken on this adventure that really consumed me. I would recommend this to anyone who likes light magical adventures! Such a fun read!

*Thank you to the publisher and Netgalley for this ARC in exchange for my honest review!


I am really excited to read more middle grade books. This was such a fun read, I really enjoyed it!

Do you think you will be reading this one? What are your thoughts on middle grade books?

12 thoughts on “MG ARC REVIEW: The Witches of Willow Cove by Josh Roberts

  1. This sounds lovely! I’m looking to add a few more MG books to my TBR. They always make me feel happier about life 😊😊😊 fab review ❤️💛🧡

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love books with a twist of magic — and the fact that they are witches is even more interesting. The plot sounds interesting as it sounds like there are secrets and mysteries to be solved. Enjoyed your fun and thorough review. Will have to check this out.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I read this a few weeks ago because I’m interviewing him at my blog, Literary Rambles, when his book comes out. I really loved it too for all the reasons you said. FYI I feature a lot of debut MG and YA authors with book or ARC giveaways if you’re interested. Thanks for the great review.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. During these trying times, any light reads are welcome, so this book sounds especially appealing! Thanks for the great review!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sounds like a great MC and one who would appeal to kid readers. I had not heard of this title and have added it to my list of future reads thanks to your review. I added you to our lineup of Marvelous Middle Grade Monday (MMGM) links. Hope you will join us again.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment