If you liked The Grace Year… You might like…

Hey friends! I’m back with another book recommendation post! I really loved doing the last one which was book recs if you liked Truly Devious! Check that one out here if you haven’t already 😊

If you are like me then you LOVED The Grace Year. I have been seeing this one pop up again on social media. I feel like the first wave of people grabbed it right when it came out and now we have everyone else picking it up for the first time and also loving it. So happy to see so many people enjoying this one!!

So anyways, I like to browse around on Goodreads and on others IG and blogs and see what the heck I can read after I read a book and loved it and WANT MORE. Goodreads I find to be the most helpful for this because they have that little side bar with books that people thought were similar or whatever!! Sometimes they aren’t good recs (for me) but other times they hit the mark! I found this time they were on point!

So without any further chit chat, lets get into the book recs!!

IF YOU LIKE THE GRACE YEAR… READ THESE, YOU MIGHT LIKE THEM 😊


Characteristics of The Grace Year that helped me pick the recommendations:

  • YA dystopia
  • Survival
  • Village life
  • Magical ideals
  • Girl who rebels against the village/ government

Wilder Girls by Rory Power

42505366

For some reason Wilder Girls came to my mind right away when I was thinking of books similar to The Grace Year! They are very different but have so many similar elements that my brain just pushed them together!

Wilder Girls is about a group of girls who live on an Island and attend a boarding school. The school is then placed under quarantine due to some mysterious anomaly that hits the Island. The girls and the Island itself start changing and things become quite dangerous. They are waiting for a cure but it seems like a cure may never come. The main character decides to break the quarantine and of course, a lot of horrible things start to happen!

Why you might like it:

  • Survival aspects
  • YA horror
  • Boarding school setting, secluded from rest of the world, group of girls
  • Possible magic/ powers

Beyond the Black Door by A.M. Strickland

42642042. sy475

This story sounds SO interesting. It is a YA fantasy. In brief, this story is about a girl who does something she shouldn’t and then negative things start to happen πŸ˜‚

The story speaks about who everyone has a soul. Some souls are beautiful and others are evil. The main character is a Soulwalker which means she can go into peoples souls when they sleep. When she visits peoples souls she always sees a black door… mysterious right? Her mom tells her to never open the black door, but some events occur and she ends up opening the black door!!

Why you might like this:

  • Fantasy
  • Main character goes against the wishes of her mother and does something she shouldn’t
  • Soulwalking – sounds interesting enough
  • LGBTQ representation

Sawkill Girls by Claire Legrand

38139409

I haven’t read this one yet but its on my TBR!

This is about 3 girls (The Sawkill Girls) who end up coming togethr on an island called Sawkill Rock. There are stories told about the island – the healing waters, the strong people, and about some monsters that lurk in the shadows. The legend says that girls have been going missing on the island for decades… no one has ever tried to do anything about it. However, the Sawkill Girls are willing to fight back and discover what is really going on.

Why you might like this:

  • Female lead characters
  • YA horror
  • Possible magic/ powers
  • Survival aspects
  • Mystery

Divergent by Veronica Roth

13335037. sy475

I feel like this one has to be the list! If you have not read this book or series yet…. not sure WHERE YOUVE BEEN?

Divergent is set in a society where people are placed in different factions when they turn 16 based on a particular virtue. We follow Beatrice who struggles when she has to decide being with her family or being who she truly is. There is a lot of action and competition. The story gets darker and darker and often times it seems no one can be trusted.

Why you might like this:

  • Set in a dystopian world
  • Female lead character who is very strong and independent
  • Survival and action
  • Betrayal
  • YA science fiction

The Tenth Girl by Sara Faring

42642111

The legend has it that anyone who tries to settle down at the isolated finishing school in South America will be cursed. Mavi decides that this is a good place for a new start. She wants to teach at the school. Mavi tries to soak up the strangeness of the school – she is told not to roam at night, is receiving threats, and hearing rumors about mysterious Others.

A student then vanishes and teacher begin to act very strangle – almost like they are possessed. Mavi starts to believe the legends and finds out some information that could unravel her existence. She must solve a cosmic mystery and then fight for her survival.

Why you might like this:

  • Psychological thriller
  • Paranormal
  • School setting
  • Legends/ myths
  • Survival aspects

What do you think? Do any of these books sounds interesting to you?

Have you read The Grace Year and want to check these ones out?

Chat with me in the comments!

2 thoughts on “If you liked The Grace Year… You might like…

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s